Change is good

I find it funny how I can be so open to big changes…such as moving to a different house, and a  career change for my husband, yet when it comes to little changes, I tend to resist.

With that said… welcome to one of my “little” changes… moving from Blogspot to WordPress!  To some, this may not seem like a huge deal, but to me it is.  I fear the work involved to immerse myself in something new. What it if doesn’t turn out the way I like it?

In the end, I know I am constantly evolving, and growing. We are movable beings.  Our cells are constantly replacing themselves.  Our skin sheds every 28 days or so.  Our mind is constantly taking in and filtering new information from our thoughts and our environment.  Our body changes without us thinking much about it. So why fear change?

Change is good. Yet, why are we so afraid of it? What are you afraid to change in your life?

Many of us are afraid to change our diet.  I remember when I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia.  After awhile, my best friend suggested I eliminate gluten to see if it helps my chronic pain. I dismissed the idea, thinking that being gluten free is only for the most “elite”.  Once I started attending the Institute for Integrative Nutrition, it seemed like classmates left and right were talking about how fabulous they felt after going gluten free- many of them reversing their Fibromyalgia.  In fact, one of my classmates, wrote a best-selling book on this very topic titled, “FibroWHYalgia by Sue Ingrebretson.   So, hesitantly, I went gluten free for 30 days, and the change was TRANSFORMATIONAL.  Of course, it can be a challenge at times!  Any time that you eliminate a whole ingredient or food, there is a grieving process… but I am SO glad that I stepped out of my comfort zone and made that change.

Change can be scary.  Especially when it involves trying something that you might not like at first.  I remember when I decided that making my kids eat healthy was a priority.  Yes, they fought me, and whined, but I stuck with it, and now they eat spinach salad and kale chips.  In fact, my son REQUESTS salad to eat at restaurants!  We always fear the unknown and I was afraid that my kids would hate me forever.  Of course, I imagined the worst case scenario, and that didn’t happen.

Do you desire better health but are afraid to step into change?  The first thing  you need to do is to DECIDE  that you want to make that change.  Write down what changes you would like to make. Then VISUALIZE yourself making those changes.  Feel the emotions.  Are you happier?  More energized?

As always, I am here for you to provide support and accountability to make those changes.  I will hold your hand AND provide tough love!

Please visit my website at www.nourishedandnew.com for more info on my story, my client’s Success Stories, upcoming events, as well as how you can work with me!

Leave a Reply

