Interview with “The Gratitude Girl” (and a fun CONTEST!)

Sometimes people come into your life who drain your energy. They are constantly complaining about anything and everything.

Then there are those times when someone comes into your life who shines so brightly you can’t help but put a smile on your face and feel uplifted and inspired for the rest of the day.

This is what I found in Elizabeth Hartigan, who is a Coach and calls herself The Gratitude Girl

I first heard about her page on Facebook.  It was Thanksgiving and she was talking about what she is grateful for.  Before long, I noticed that she posts her gratitude every single day.  That was a good reminder for me to stay centered in gratitude, as I know how easy it is for us to lose sight of that.

Her daily reminders to be grateful has increased my joy and contentment tremendously.  I now find myself feeling grateful for so-called little things, like toilets and fly swatters. 🙂 

Recently, I asked Elizabeth a few questions by email, and here are her responses.

(Then, be sure to leave a comment below sharing what you are grateful for. This is part of a fun contest and the winner will receive some great gifts!  Read more about the contest below, after the interview.)

The Gratitude Girl

I love your title. Will you share with us how you became The Gratitude Girl?

Thank you, Kellie. Truthfully Gratitude found me! 12 years ago I found myself in a bit of a funk. I discovered a lump in my neck and was told I had cancer.

 In that moment my world began to shift! Gratefully Oprah had a very special guest Mattie Stepanek a little boy with Muscular Dystrophy who lost 3 siblings and was sharing his battle and struggle in his life. I thought if this little guy can be so loving and so grateful, than so can I!
I started with a simple spiral notebook, and have to admit when I started it was a struggle to jot down 5 things a day to be grateful for.  Now I can easily list hundreds in a few minutes.

About 40 days later the lump was gone, I did no traditional treatment, I simply went within and removed negativity, release people and things that needed to be released, followed my intuition, and started with Gratitude!
This diagnosis was a blessing in disguise, I realized the power we each have in changing our lives by changing our thoughts. My life has never been the same, it is now an honor and joy to share this gift with others!

Explain with us the benefits of why it is so important to practice gratitude every day.

Sharing gratitude is such an important and powerful tool. It has been scientifically proven that gratitude is one of the highest levels of vibration in the world. So as we practice gratitude personally, and practice sharing gratitude we instantly lift our vibration, we enhance and strengthen our relationships. Know that your words have the ability to heal and bless another, often we are told what is wrong rather than what is right. I make it a point to share gratitude with someone each and everyday!

I know you have mentioned to me before that you don’t just talk about gratitude.  Can you share some examples of what you discuss with your clients?

Absolutely, Gratitude is the foundation of my work. I also help my clients discover their purpose and live from their passion.
Much of the work I do is on shifting our thinking, releasing old negative thoughts that are running in the background, letting go of that which no longer serves us, and clearing space for that which we intend to attract in our lives. I help clients make conscious changes in our lives, and allow their own unique magnificence to Shine!

photo of Elizabeth

How does someone know if they could benefit from a Gratitude coach, such as yourself?

I specialize in working with Female Entrepreneurs who are looking to make a change or shift in their lives. They love their lives but may be wondering how do I live fully and passionately from my purpose? They may be feeling stuck or blocked in a particular area of live and wondering how do I attract more of what I want into my life? They may want to release a block or find a new way of looking at things, I always say Perception is everything! We see the world through our own filtered perceptions. When we begin to shift the way we look at things, the things we look at begin to shift.

What is it about being The Gratitude Girl that really lights you up and brings you joy?

I love hearing stories of relationships that have been healed or repaired through gratitude after working with me or attending a seminar.

 I love seeing someone get that a-ha moment right in front of you. You see it in their eyes and in their heart.

 I love helping someone to release a block or self imposed limitation by bringing it forth. So often we do not even realize the limiting ideas or blocks we carry around until someone else see’s it in us. As a coach or guide part of my work is in paying attention to what is being said or going on underneath the surface by bringing it to light and using gratitude to re-frame a situation.  Perception is everything!

Lastly,  please share what you are grateful for today!

There is so much to be grateful for! Today, I am grateful for a custom blended iced tea infusion, YUM! I am grateful for my husband Kurt who is so supportive and loving. I am grateful for my doggie Sterling who is endless joy, unconditional love, and reminds me to play! I am grateful for the ability to go within and to listen to that small voice that is guiding me.  I am grateful for my friends who bless and enrich my life in so many ways!  I could go on and on!

Thank you for this opportunity to share! I am truly grateful! 🙂

With Gratitude,

Elizabeth

__________________________________________

Thank you, Elizabeth!  I am grateful for YOU!

So, my friends…How often do you share gratitude?  I challenge you to write down what you are grateful for every day, and visit Elizabeth’s special gratitude page, The Gratitude Girl on Facebook, to share what you are grateful for!  Also,  to learn more about The Gratitude Girl, please visit her website at www.TheGratitudeGirl.com.

You may also connect with her by “liking” her facebook page HERE.

So, now for the CONTEST!!

Here is what you need to do:  Share in the comments below (click the link underneath this post), what you are grateful for! Simple as that!

How you win:  I will pick a winner at random through random.org

Deadline Tuesday, June 18th at midnight, AZ time (please note date change) …. but go ahead and share your comment TODAY!

What you will win!

-a copy of the book The Slow Down Diet, by Marc David (this book transformed the way that I look at food),

IMG_0612

-PLUS 2 FREE health coaching sessions with myself (for you or a friend) (visit my website at www.nourishedandnew.com to learn more about what I do and how I can support you around your relationship with food and your body!)

-AND a beautiful Gratitude Stone, from Elizabeth Hartigan, The Gratitude Girl.  I have a stone and it’s always a great reminder to be grateful!

Lilac_Gratitude_Stone_152x140

You will be contacted by email, so please make sure and leave your email address with your comment! I will also share the winner on a blog post.

Why am I having this contest?

To celebrate one year of blogging!! And to celebrate YOU!

So, I want to see LOTS of gratitudes!  And please share this blog on your Facebook page!  Thank you for all of YOUR support!  I am truly GRATEFUL for all of you!

Blessings,

Kellie

p.s.-  feel free to take a look around at my other posts! I usually post inspiring messages of health and wellness to support and encourage you on your journey!  And if you like what you see, I would LOVE it if you could subscribe!

headshot2

www.nourishedandnew.com

25 thoughts on “Interview with “The Gratitude Girl” (and a fun CONTEST!)

  1. Love this, Kellie!! I am so very grateful for my fantastic hubs and children that support all of my dreams. I am grateful for the great groups of people I meet through following my passions as a healthy food coach. oxox

  2. I am grateful for you Kellie for inviting me to share the power of gratitude. I am grateful for choosing to adapt a mindful approach to eating, duh! I have done it in every other area of my life, just not there! I am feeling great and love to ask my body each day, what do you need to be nourished? And love the intuitive feedback it gives me. There is so much to be grateful for! With Love & Gratitude, Elizabeth

  3. I am thankful & grateful each and every day to have been blessed with my beautiful, intelligent, joy spreading daughters! I feel so blessed to be their mommy!

    I am blessed to have met the Gratitude Girl in person! Woo hoo!
    darcin623@gmail.com

  4. I am incredibly grateful for my two precious children, my husband and my family and friends. I am also grateful for my health problem as I have learned so much about nutrition and food in the process of managing it, which has been such a blessing to both me and my family.

  5. I am grateful for learning about and becoming aware of the power of gratitude. It is completely life changing when practiced. Thank you for helping to share it.

  6. I am grateful for everyday. Everyday is filled with the beauty of this world. I am grateful for my three beautiful, intelligent, wonderful daughters my supportive husband and I raised. I grow from them just as much as they have grown from being in my life. I am grateful for my health and every person I interact with.

  7. I too feel a change a-comin’! Im gratefully thrilled to combine gratitude and our local AZ food products in an idea I’ve had for my lil biz of Nourished. Stay tuned…I’m now positive this is the direction to go with my business now. So grateful to have stayed up til 12am last night reading Rebecca Lammersens inspiring writing which allowed me to finally hear what others have been saying all along. Why did i not know such graceful, divine, and wise women lived right here in my neighborhood of Scottsdale, AZ? Thanks for choosing to encourage and share your words. I’m grateful to find and connect with you all in a matter of hours of random Facebook reading. Must share This other local like minded gals work who’s words encouraged so much last night. Ahhh thanks ladies http://www.elephantjournal.com/author/rebecca-lammersen/

  8. I am struggling these past few days on retaining gratitude. I have had 2 surgeries and Radiation for cancer. A month ago a new mass has been discovered and I have another round of radiation this month and possibly surgery again. I can say that I am grateful for friends and family, their prayers and support, my husband and children who keep me laughing and smiling with reasons to keep on going.

  9. I am grateful for inspiration, which ironically, comes to me when I focus on the things I am grateful for. I begin seeing that I lack nothing of real importance. I then ask if I am using everything I’ve been provided to its fullest potential. The answer is always no. I begin to see dozens of ways to expand on all the blessings I’ve received. And thus the inspiration begins anew.

  10. I’m grateful for my family and being able to share Father’s Day with my Dad tomorrow. I’m am so grateful for the thoughts and feelings shared here today in this blog – thank you for the awesome energy and positivity.

  11. Good Morning Kellie — Today (aka Saturday), I AM grateful for the trees that have been cut down in my neighbors yard as it gives me a brighter yard. And this morning I AM grateful to be able to sit in my living room and look out the window and watch the birds make a home in my roof!! I AM grateful for the Gratitude Girl —

  12. I love this blog post 🙂 I am of course grateful for my beautiful family and all the friends I have in my life. I often post things daily on facebook that I am grateful for, like visiting family, a walk with the girls, happy children playing (I babysit so that’s always a plus! LoL) the beautiful trees and the sky, the mountains, the river etc. I really LOVE nature! So many things to be grateful for 🙂 Thank you!

  13. I am grateful for having the life I always dreamed of. I am grateful for my amazing husband, and our 3 beautiful healthy kids. I am grateful for the beautiful home we own at the base of a beautiful mountain I have grown up loving. I am grateful for my health and my life. And I am grateful to you for reminding me to be grateful!:)

  14. I’m so grateful for my health and the health of my family! I have amazing people in my life and am happy that I’m able to support and love them.

  15. I’m thankful for a husband that loves me unconditionally & takes care of me. Thankful to finally be finding some answers to my health issues.

Leave a Reply

