Finding Freedom- a poem about healing

I am hoping this poem will resonate with someone! This one just came to me yesterday.

August 9, 2007 070_2

What is it that weighs me down like an anchor at the bottom of the sea.
I am shackled by the darkness. Is it

Fear
Shame
Bitterness

Holding onto what I should look like, think and feel?

If I let go will I drown in my awareness or swim to a place where freedom lies?

Free of doubts
Free of pain
Free of comparisons

Will I drown in the storm or be lifted up to a place where I can be me? Where I can simply BE?

Freedom comes when I take a breath and rise up to a place of healing.

Letting go of my shackles, I do not know the place where the crystal blue water hits the glistening sand.

But I know that transformation awaits when I graciously, fearlessly, and with great faith, open my heart and surrender to the tides of water that we call life.

–by Kellie McGarry

Holistic Health Coach

www.nourishedandnew.com

kids at shore Morro Bay

4 thoughts on “Finding Freedom- a poem about healing

  1. Kellie, it took me many years to get to the point where I am able to accept myself just the way I am and feel free to be myself. This poem expressed those feelings beautifully. Thank you for your honesty and for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

