3 reasons why we should not worry about Kate’s belly

I have to admit- I am feeling angry.  Old feelings have been resurfacing.  Of not feeling good enough.  Remembering how I felt I should look like after being pregnant.  The jealousy that accompanied Moms comparing their stomachs.  Questions from others, months after having my second child, asking if I was pregnant again (when I was not). Truthfully,  those comments did a lot of damage for awhile and that’s why I ended up almost getting a tummy tuck.

Unless you are living under a rock, you have heard that the Duchess of Cambridge, Kate Middleton, had a baby boy.  While I have  not followed their story obsessively, I did find myself celebrating with them.  They seem like such a loving, affectionate couple and she seems very real and down-to-earth.

I felt such joy after reading (and sharing on my page) an article with a picture of Kate holding her baby….like any normal mother, her uterus has not yet shrunk and she makes no effort to hide that, which I think is AWESOME.   She looks BEAUTIFUL and her and her husband look VERY happy.

And THEN…. I came across another article from a magazine, titled,

Post-Pregnancy Fitness: Supermodel Mamas Are Helping Kate Middleton Get Back Into Royal Shape!

Can we all let out one big….UGH!!!!  The article seemed to imply that these supermodels are experts in fitness (since when is THAT true??) and that she desperately NEEDS to get back into shape…..like, NOW!! Her reputation depends on it!

Here are  three reasons why this article deserves to be trashed.

First, just because she has a belly does NOT mean that she is out of shape!!  She looks like a mother who just had a baby!

Second, what is more important right now, her having a flat stomach, or focusing all her energies on taking care of this precious child?

Third….. WHO the hell cares what she looks like?  As long as SHE feels comfortable in her own skin, that is what matters!!

Can we all get back to CELEBRATING our post-baby body?  I need to remind myself, too, at this time, that it’s normal to not go back to what I looked like before kids.  It’s totally okay!!  As long as we are nourishing ourselves- mind, body and spirit and showing love and compassion to the body that carried our precious babes.

On that note…. I wanted to  go out on a limb and share this VERY PREGNANT photo of me from 8 years ago….. I was pregnant with my second child.  My daughter, who is a very small 8 year old now,  was born at 9 pounds 4 oz.   (and I still have the stretch marks to prove it. ) 🙂

My pregnant belly resized

Much love,

Kellie

Learn more about me at:

www.nourishedandnew.com

10 thoughts on “3 reasons why we should not worry about Kate’s belly

  1. Thanks! What a great piece! The worship of bodies has gone way too far. I love all of it, but this part especially needs to be heard by every mother out there, whether they gave birth or they adopted and their child took precedence over their body image: “First, just because she has a belly does NOT mean that she is out of shape!! She looks like a mother who just had a baby!
    Second, what is more important right now, her having a flat stomach, or focusing all her energies on taking care of this precious child?
    Third….. WHO the hell cares what she looks like? As long as SHE feels comfortable in her own skin, that is what matters!!
    Can we all get back to CELEBRATING our post-baby body?”

  2. You are so amazingly brave, I love the fact that you posted this. And you are right I am tired of people shaming our bodies for stretchmark, cellulite, extra pounds, not firm enough, some extra skin. We all cant be perfect and photoshopped. We should be in awe at how amazing she is to be standing there after giving birth less than 24 hours prior. I thought she looked so beautiful and brave.

  3. It’s such a shame that mothers are subjected to all this pressure – it’s as if everyone forgets what an amazing thing they have just done!! And can you imagine if we all followed the advice of supermodels for our health? I’m sure the power lies with us though – just stop buying all those silly celeb magazines that prattle on about who is wearing what, who is losing weight and who is putting it on. We need to send a message to the media that we just aren’t interested in gossip!

Leave a Reply

