Feeling low? Try this one important practice.

My last post was about feeling awesome, and telling ourselves that we are, in fact,  awesome.  When we say , “I am awesome”, what is the purpose of that?  Is it just to give ourselves a pep talk?  Is it to brag on how awesome we are?

To me, saying “I am awesome” is one way to affirm to ourselves (either out loud or in our mind) who we really truly are.

It’s what many experts would call a “Positive Affirmation.”   It’s simply a positive statement that if we say over and over again,  we start to believe.

Notice that I am implying that we don’t have to believe it when we first start saying, but we need to get to where we trust that it is true.

This past week, I had the honor of facilitating a group of women in my series called “I Am Beautiful.”  Many of us struggle with our body image, what others think of us, and how to truly nourish ourselves. So we challenged our negative thoughts each day with a different positive affirmation such as:

~ I am perfect, whole and complete just the way I am.

~ I am grateful for what my body can do for me.

~ I love and accept myself.

~ My beauty does not depend on a size.

~ I am ready and willing to nourish my soul.

I also challenged them to look in the mirror every day and say one thing they like about themselves.

So what are the benefits? 

  • Experts say that positive affirmations are shown to affect a person’s well-being, right down to the subconscious level which then affects our behaviors.
  • When we start our day with a positive attitude, we carry that joy with us and naturally want to take care of ourselves.
  • Also, when we start to feel more confident, others will notice and will be naturally drawn to us, so saying positive affirmations can affect our relationships.
  • Saying them can even increase your energy. When you think about it, we lack a lot of energy when we spend our days obsessed about what we don’t like.

There is a right and a wrong way to write or say affirmations.

Never say “I wish…”  such as “I wish I wasn’t so fat.”  This has a negative connotation and keeps you from truly manifesting what you want because you are stuck in what it is you think about the most.

Don’t even say “I wish I was thinner.”   This still implies a negative connotation.

You may say, “I am comfortable in my clothes.”  Better yet, “I love and accept myself just the way I am.”  (reminder: you don’t need to believe it the first time! Also, when we say “I am”… we are envisioning it for the future, even if it hasn’t happened yet)

Next tip: write them down (don’t just say them out loud) and remind yourself of the affirmation through out the day.

What is YOUR favorite affirmation?  Share it in the comments below!

Here is a photo of myself with my “I Am Beautiful” note. One of the first challenges was to write this down and put it on our mirror. 🙂

IMG_0738

p.s.– I will be doing the “I Am Beautiful” series again, sometime in November, so be on the look out!

Here are some of my participant’s “aha” moments:

~”My “aha” is that it’s nice to focus on yourself in positive ways. Instead of comparing ourselves to others, I like comparing myself to what I want to be. Your challenges & questions helped to guide me to what I want I be. What are my passions? What am I grateful for? What am I going to do to love myself today & let my beauty from within radiate to lift others up as well? Thanks!”

~ I think I need to do more positive affirmations and find better ways to deal with stress than just eat comfort foods. I also need to accept my imperfections.

~  Thank you! It’s really helped me to focus over the past few days. I was having quite a tough time (partly adjusting to my littlest baby of three starting school!) and this series, along with a couple of other things, has really helped me to start lifting myself out of the negative cycle I was in.

~”My “aha” is that it’s nice to focus on yourself in positive ways. Instead of comparing ourselves to others, I like comparing myself to what I want to be. Your challenges & questions helped to guide me to what I want I be. What are my passions? What am I grateful for? What am I going to do to love myself today & let my beauty from within radiate to lift others up as well? Thanks!”I think I need to do more positive affirmations and find better ways to deal with stress than just eat comfort foods. I also need to accept my imperfections.Thank you! It’s really helped me to focus over the past few days. I was having quite a tough time (partly adjusting to my littlest baby of three starting school!) and this series, along with a couple of other things, has really helped me to start lifting myself out of the negative cycle I was in.

– See more at: http://www.nourishedandnew.com/#sthash.0i6J1Pa4.dpuf

~”My “aha” is that it’s nice to focus on yourself in positive ways. Instead of comparing ourselves to others, I like comparing myself to what I want to be. Your challenges & questions helped to guide me to what I want I be. What are my passions? What am I grateful for? What am I going to do to love myself today & let my beauty from within radiate to lift others up as well? Thanks!”I think I need to do more positive affirmations and find better ways to deal with stress than just eat comfort foods. I also need to accept my imperfections.Thank you! It’s really helped me to focus over the past few days. I was having quite a tough time (partly adjusting to my littlest baby of three starting school!) and this series, along with a couple of other things, has really helped me to start lifting myself out of the negative cycle I was in.

– See more at: http://www.nourishedandnew.com/#sthash.0i6J1Pa4.dpuf

~”My “aha” is that it’s nice to focus on yourself in positive ways. Instead of comparing ourselves to others, I like comparing myself to what I want to be. Your challenges & questions helped to guide me to what I want I be. What are my passions? What am I grateful for? What am I going to do to love myself today & let my beauty from within radiate to lift others up as well? Thanks!”I think I need to do more positive affirmations and find better ways to deal with stress than just eat comfort foods. I also need to accept my imperfections.Thank you! It’s really helped me to focus over the past few days. I was having quite a tough time (partly adjusting to my littlest baby of three starting school!) and this series, along with a couple of other things, has really helped me to start lifting myself out of the negative cycle I was in.

– See more at: http://www.nourishedandnew.com/#sthash.0i6J1Pa4.dpuf

Make it a beautiful day!

Kellie

Certified Holistic Health Coach

www.nourishedandnew.com

–Curious to learn more about how I can support you to love your body, love your food and love your life?

I invite you to schedule a one hour Breakthrough Session for $37!  Visit my website for more information.

6 thoughts on “Feeling low? Try this one important practice.

  1. Positive self talk is so important. My boyfriend’s two daughters (15 and 11yrs) are always saying hoe awesome they are. They have even worked awesome into their names. Its their first answer to almost every why question you could ever ask them. Its so fun to watch.

Leave a Reply

