“My Journey of Body Acceptance” (Lee-Ann’s story)

 

 

Do you sometimes feel alone in your journey of trying to become friends with your body? I know I used to feel that way!  Over the past couple of years, I have met some amazing women who inspire me and I know I am not alone! YOU are not alone!  As I was thinking of what to post in my blog, I had the idea to share the stories of a few different women.They are stories of struggling to love themselves and of discovering body acceptance.  I will be posting each story here as well as sharing it in video format! This first one is from my friend Lee-Ann, who I met in her Facebook group- Body Positive.  After you read (or watch), please show her some love in the comments below! And check back here for the next story!

 

 

*************************************************************************************************

Lee-Ann's pic collage

 

 

 

 

________________________________________________________________________

I truly believe that if I didn’t begin this journey of finding peace with my body, I might not be here to share this. Just a few short years ago, I was so unhappy with what I saw in the mirror that suicidal thoughts were a daily occurrence.  Leaving the house was beyond difficult as I felt that I would be judged. I felt like I was the ugliest women ever with the grossest body. Many hours a day were spent online, looking at before and after plastic surgery photos and I would be filled with so much hope that one day, I could change how I looked. Off and on throughout my life, I have struggled with eating disorders and the scale ruled my life.

After the birth of my last son 2 years ago, something changed. By 6 weeks postpartum, I was at my pre-pregnancy weight but then the number starting going up. I knew that something had to change and that something had nothing to do with my looks, it was something in my mind and heart. Around this time, I began noticing more and more positive body image things online and I took to heart as many tips as I could. I began my own group where being body positive ruled, where women could share how they too began to love themselves. That scale….I smashed it with a hammer and have not been on a scale since. I had to learn to replace my negative thoughts with a positive one. It was especially helpful to step out of my comfort zone and do things that before I would avoid such as going to a pool in a bathing suit or wearing outfits that made me feel good without worrying about what others thought. I began to question and call BS on all the messages the media gives out. One of the biggest things I learned and remind myself of daily is that my worth and value has nothing to do with what I weigh or how I look.
Today, I actually feel good about myself most of the time and when I do have bad days, I am able to go easy on myself. I can leave the house and enjoy living in the moment with knowing in my heart, that is what matters….living. I can look in the mirror ( I even recently hung a full length one up ) and feel great. I want to encourage those who hate their reflection that if I can go from body hater to body lover, you can too!!
 Lee-Ann photo 2
~Lee-Ann Henderson
Click HERE to join her group— Body Positive– on Facebook!
One thought on ““My Journey of Body Acceptance” (Lee-Ann’s story)

  1. Well done Lee Ann! I am now part of the “body positive” group on Facebook and this is where I found this article. Thanks for creating this group, loving all the body positivity that I am reading there.

Leave a Reply

